On Monday Greg and I had a miscarriage. It was an awful day. Painful – physically and emotionally. We spent 13 hours in the hospital and came home so sad. We were 13 weeks pregnant and SO excited to be parents. We miss our little bean.

During this week we have been very confused. Why did this happen? Why did this happen now? Not only did we have a miscarriage, but many things around us continue to remind us of this painful situation. While we are also confused we are mostly sad.  Sadness is the only emotion that truly expresses how we have been feeling.

While we are sad we have also tried to focus on things we are thankful for and here it is.

1. I am thankful for my husband who held my hand all day long. I can’t even express in words how amazing he was on Monday!

2. I am thankful for family and friends who continue to bring me chicken soup, chicken pot pie, chocolate milk, spaghetti, red and green cupcakes and those who stopped by to check on me during this sad time.  I am thankful for the friends who don’t gloss over this hard time but get in the sadness with us and cry.  I remember calling many people on Monday and Tuesday and crying on the phone and hearing their voice crack on the other end. Thank you for that.

3. I am thankful for socks. I had a small surgery on Monday and woke up in the OR with the warmest socks in the world.  I love those socks and will never part with Northside: Cherokee navy blue socks. They even have little rubber soles so I don’t slip and slide.

I am thankful for many other things this holiday season, but I am sticking with the mains.  Thank you for your phone calls, prayers, thoughts and emails.

I have done some fun stuff to the house – I promise I will be on to the regularly scheduled program soon.

