Garden! Garden! Garden! Garden! Garden! Garden! Garden!

Can you tell I am excited? For five years I have wanted to put a garden at my own house. We had one last year in the cute guest  house we rented which we were SO thankful for but just something about it being all ours.  I am giddy with excitement and have spent almost all my free time planning and driving Greg crazy about a garden. I think at least twice a week I drag him to Home Depot and Lowes.  I have read and marked all over my garden books.

Things needed for raised garden:

1. Wood planks – they have some awesome USED railroad ties at Lowes for $11.50 a piece – trying to debate if it is worth the price. There are also some smaller wood planks for like $2.00 a piece. Should I splurge? The railroad ties would look rustic but the wood planks would have very clean lines.

2. Compost – anyone know where to get stinky dirt?

3. Thin wood planks – this will divide up the veggies each at a square food a piece.

4. Wires and poles – this will create a fence for the beans and cucumbers to climb.

So off I go! I have included some images below to make you drool over some fresh veggies. OH and a demo next week for how to make a raised bed.

Fresh grown tomatoes from last year for a BLT!

Fresh veggies from last years garden (please ignore the dirtiest sponge in the world)

Are you drooling yet?

Any garden plans this year? Any advice from experienced gardners? Are you doing a raised garden or just putting those seeds in the ground or putting some container plants together? PLEASE SHARE!!!! What is your favorite home grown fruit or veggie? Can’t wait to hear!

