Since today is Cinco De Mayo I thought I would post a recipe that I making tonight (well, starting this morn before work). My friend Jenn gave me this recipe and it is so easy and taste so good that it will seriously melt your face off.  It requires a crock pot and some prep time in the morning. But since I am a working person it is easier to do this before work and have it ready when I get home. It also requires some taco seasoning which I always forget to buy at the grocery store, so I will include my recipe for taco seasoning. I hope your face is melted (I only mean this in the most friendly way)!

We are having some friends over tonight and this will make enough for all of us and for a meal tomorrow. This recipe makes so much dang food. Happy melting!

Mexican Chicken Goodness

5 Minute Prep

  • 1 pound (about 3 large)  Boneless Chicken Breast
  • 1 regular size can of black beans
  • 1 regular size can of corn
  • 1 small jar of your favorite salsa (i like pace picante mild)
  • 1 8 oz.  package of cream cheese
  • 1 package of taco seasoning mix

Place chicken breast in crock pot.  Add can of black beans (drained), jar of salsa, can of corn (drained) and taco seasoning.  Cook in crock pot on low for 7-8 hours or until chicken is cooked.  30 minutes before it is done throw on the cream cheese block until melted.  When done cooking, shred the chicken with two forks and mix everything together.  It can be used for nachos, taquitos (roll ’em up and bake em, or soft tacos. All your Mexican fantasies will come true.

Taco Seasoning

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I always add more b/c I like the spice)

1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon black pepper.

Combine in a ziplock bag and shake when finished.

And here are the cookies I will be making tonight.

