As we approach this adoption ever so quickly (but yet slowly in my head because if it isn’t happening right now, right now, right now I get impatient and after the 2 year mark I started to become a crazy person…I digress). We have begun looking (HESITANTLY)  at baby stuff which terrifies the SHIT out of me for two reasons…(sorry for the curse word but it effectively communicates my terrifiedness).

1. Because we have been here before and been emotionally invested in baby stuff and realized that we didn’t need to buy baby stuff- boo

and

2. Because Greg and I will be in charge of a life and we are still trying to figure out how to function as human beings ourselves – I always misplace things like refrigerated items in different areas of the house…seriously, cheese has been found in mysterious places…

Currently we are reading profiles of birth mothers which makes everything more REAL. I can’t quite communicate this situation in a blog so if you are curious please ask.  It has been quite an emotional/heavy few weeks of learning the stories of many different women. My heart breaks with each story.

We are also coming to grip with the fact that while adoption is a WONDERFUL and REDEMPTIVE thing, it is not how life was meant to be and God comes into this brokenness and brings redemption…yay God. So while thinking about this, I think about how to communicate adoption to our future little kiddo and how much God loves him/her. And all I can think about is that Superman is adopted…and Superman is awesome. Also, Ice-T is adopted but maybe not as cool to a little kid as Superman or appropriate because we all would judge a mom who let their kid listen to Ice-T. So yay to Superman being adopted! I hope our kid is proud to come from a story like this because I am so proud to be a part of this story that is so much bigger than myself.

