E-oatmeal

I can’t believe it’s been 9 months of this little boy. He is just a wild man. He crawls so fast. He climbs everything. He disregards everything in his way. I saw this quote in an interview with Nia Vardolas in an adoption magazine and I couldn’t agree more.

Q: Many adoptive parents later reveal a feeling that their specific child was waiting for them. In Instant Mom you say, “If the standard route of creating a family had worked for me, I wouldn’t have met this child. I needed to know her. I needed to be her mother.”
A: It’s that secret we all share. Parents who got to adopt their kids…we all know something. We got invited to a club we didn’t think we could ever get into.

Anyway – here are 9 things about my little man at ALMOST 9 months.

1. You still love to cuddle with mom. You will climb over ANYTHING to get to me. After your bottle at night you stroke my arm and then jump up to hold on to my neck while you fall asleep.

2. When you get excited you rock on your knees. I think it is your first form of dancing.

3. Your hair has started to get curly. When you get out of the bath you have Kramer hair – it all sticks up at the top…it also doesn’t help that when you sleep you rub off the sides a little.

4. You have started to get opinionated about food. You love to eat with your hands and will swat away the spoon. This isn’t my favorite thing these days but kiddo, mom always wins…this is something you will learn soon enough. You will get your vegetables!

5. You are climbing the stairs and standing. This includes standing in your crib while hands are extended and screaming at the top of your lungs when you wake up in the morning.

6. You just laugh all the time. What is so funny kiddo? You are definitely like your dad with your glass half full attitude. Mom is all about the empty glass.

7. You love to sleep.

8. You love to sit and look at your books. In the evenings when we put you in your crib you lie on your back and cross your legs and look and scream at your foam book. This Sunday morning you sat in your pack and play and just turned the pages in books while mom and dad read as well. It was a moment I wish I could freeze in time because most of the time you are moving faster than I can catch ya.

9. You’re just a mess like your parents. You seem to follow suit so well.

All I can say is trouble. We are in for a lot of trouble.

 

